2018

PRUNE PHI

APPEL MANQUÉ

Her search for identity has lead Prune Phi to create a dialogue between the testimonies of the third generation of Franco-Vietnamese living in Toulouse and the knowledge on scientists on how the memory is conveyed, forgotten and even denied. Her though process is based on the reappropriation of histories of families to try to reveal the memory traces left by the ancestors who contributed to the invention of the Self. 

After studies in Fine Arts and a master of Artistic Creation, Theory and Mediation, Prune Phi completed a one-year residency at the Birmingham Institute of Arts and Design in the United Kingdom and then entered the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie of Arles from which she graduated in 2018. Prune Phi completed an installation work made with photographs, drawings, collages, collected documents, texts, and videos. She staged and questioned the mechanisms of transmission within families and communities. 

Thus, she interested in the physical traits that persist or, on the contrary, are diluted from one generation to the next one, in the modifications of body and its anomalies. In other sets, she collects and cross-references of several immigrated and exiled Vietnamese generations on the unreliable memory of their common memory and the fictional dimension attached to it. She tried to reveal, by different works, the amnesiac traces that participated in building and invention of each one. 

EN

2018

PRUNE PHI

APPEL MANQUÉ

À la suite d’études en Arts Plastiques et d’un Master en Création Artistique, Théorie et Médiation, Prune Phi réalise une résidence d’un an au Birmingham Institute of Art and Design au Royaume-Uni puis intègre l’École Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie d’Arles dont elle est diplômée en 2018. Prune réalise un travail d’installation fait de photographies, dessins, collages, documents collectés, textes et vidéos. Elle y met en scène et en question les mécanismes de transmission au sein des familles et des communautés.

Elle s’intéresse ainsi aux traits physiques qui persistent, ou au contraire, se diluent d’une génération à l’autre, aux modifications du corps et à ses anomalies. Dans d’autres ensembles, elle recueille et croise les témoignages de plusieurs générations d’immigrés et d’exilés vietnamiens sur la mémoire incertaine de leur histoire commune et la dimension fictionnelle qui s’y attache. Elle tente de révéler, par ces différents travaux, les marques mnésiques qui participent à la construction et l’invention de chacun

La série de Camille Carbonaro est une archéologie visuelle qui explore les notions de mémoire, de généalogie et d’exil : un questionnement lié aux conséquences de l’immigration et de l’intégration italiennes en France.

FR