2021

RHIZOME

SET 2021

 Filigranes Editions 

AUTOR.S : Grégoire Eloy, Myriem Karim, Laure Winants

TEXTS : Fabien Ribery 

Dimensions: 6.6 x 9.8 inches Languages: French/Anglais
Price: 25,00 €
Print Run: 500 exemplaires
ISBN: 978-2-35046-549-4

#13 «Ossoue» (Grégoire Eloy)
#14 «L’empreinte des millénaires» (Myriem Karim)
#15 «Albedo» (Laure Winants)

 Extracts from the Fabien Ribery’s texts 

"A steam cloud is hiding the face of a new explorer, boldness brother among all his predecessors. We have to be there, alone, while the ice is cracking and clouds are covering the horizon. We have to endure the inside death-knell for fear, danger of loneliness on a territory which is as facsinating as hostile. The picture we got is the result of an endurance, a stubbornness, probably even from a madness. It is a challenge, an excessiveness, an inconcivable part. What is the point ? used to say Beckett. The point is only this, answer all the artist facing the unrepresentable, the absolute, the introspective abyss. There is halos, magnificents glimmers, suspended ghosts as well as celestials cristals. Taking up to human body or by satellites from above the atmosphere, photographies of the glacier show a surface where reason and markers get lost."

Grégoire Eloy

"How do we look to a territory ? What signs must we trust ? How can we read all the nature folds, its breaks, its screams ? What are the meaning of these scars ? What about those colours ? And what about those strange shapes ? How can we establish objectives criterions ? To what scale can we devote ourselves ? By choosing the Gavarnie area, opene-air geology book, as her exploration field, Myriem Karim decided to question three specialist of their discipline : a geologist, a geomorphologist and a geographer. By naming her projetc L’Empreinte des millénaires, the young artist has not only oberved minerals surfaces, but has also questionned time thickness, its depth, its telluric energy, its dynamics."

Myriem Karim

"The mountain is alive, it mooves, transforms, reinvents, adapts itself. It is a big permanent hurly-burly and usually invisible if we do not take attention to the prints and clues wich sprinkle its surface. We think it is fixed, comfortably setteled in its peaks and mountainous area, but it never stop expressing, testifing and mooving itself.

Laure Winants
EN

2021

RHIZOME

Coffret 2021

Éditions Filigranes

AUTEUR.E.S: Grégoire Eloy, Myriem Karim, Laure Winants
TEXTES: Fabien Ribery

Format: 170 x 250 mm
Langues: Français/Anglais
Prix: 25,00 €
Tirage: 500 exemplaires
ISBN: 978-2-35046-549-4

#13 «Ossoue» (Grégoire Eloy)
#14 «L’empreinte des millénaires» (Myriem Karim)
#15 «Albedo» (Laure Winants)

Extraits des textes de Fabien Ribery

""Un nuage de buée cache le visage du nouvel explorateur, frère en audaces de tous ses prédécesseurs. Il faut être là, seul, alors que la glace craque et que les nuages bouclent tout horizon. Il faut faire l’épreuve du glas intérieur, de la peur, du danger de solitude en un territoire aussi fascinant qu’hostile. L’image obtenue est le fruit d’une endurance, d’une obstination, probablement d’une folie. C’est un défi, une démesure, une part d’inconcevable. À quoi bon ? disait Beckett. Bon qu’à ça, répondent tous les artistes de nécessité se confrontant avec l’irreprésentable, l’absolu, le gouffre introspectif. Il y a des halos, des lueurs sublimes, des fantômes en suspension comme des cristaux célestes. Prises à hauteur de corps humain ou par satellites de l’au-delà de la stratosphère, les photographies du glacier montrent une surface où se perdent raison et repères."

Grégoire Eloy

"Comment regarde-t-on un territoire ? À quels signes faut-il se fier ? Comment lire les plis de la nature, ses cassures, ses cris ? Que veulent dire ces marques ? Et ces couleurs ? Et ces formes étranges ? Comment établir des critères objectifs ? À quelles échelles se vouer ? Ayant choisi la zone de Gavarnie, livre de géologie à ciel ouvert, comme terrain d’exploration, Myriem Karim a décidé de questionner trois spécialistes de leur discipline : un géologue, un géomorphologue et un géographe. En intitulant son projet L’Empreinte des millénaires, la jeune artiste n’a pas seulement observé des surfaces minérales, mais a interrogé l’épaisseur même du temps, sa profondeur, son énergie tellurique, sa dynamique."

Myriem Karim

"La montagne est vivante, elle bouge, se transforme, se réinvente, s’adapte. C’est un grand tohu-bohu permanent et généralement invisible si l’on ne prend garde aux traces et indices qui en parsèment la surface. On la croit fixe, installée confortablement en ses cimes et reliefs, mais elle ne cesse de s’exprimer, de témoigner, de se déplacer."

Laure Winants
FR