RÉSIDENCE 2016

Diana Lui, Alice Lévêque & Léa Patrix

The Residence 1+2 was born of a simple observation – Toulouse exists to a greater or lesser extent in the eyes of renowned French and foreign photographers – and of a desire to create favourable conditions for a production that is “made in Toulouse” but open to the world, fully associating artistic creation and the sharing of knowledge. We consider photography to be both a major art form and a social practice in its own right. 

Halfway between a residency and a masterclass, the Residence 1+2 aims to enhance the value of all the tangible and intangible heritage existing in Toulouse and the Occitanie region: diasporas, memories, collections, cultures, mobility, music, architecture, etc. Documenting the Toulouse and regional territory, its tangible and intangible heritage, yes, but above all, letting it live and let it go in the eyes of the others The Residence 1+2 is a photographic programme based in Toulouse and with a European vocation, during which three photographers confront their authorial views. Each year, it brings together three photographers (one renowned photographer and two young photographers), three cities (Toulouse, Barcelona, Brussels) and three media (exhibition, books, film). For this first edition, we have chosen Diana Lui, Alice Lévêque and Léa Patrix. 

Coming from different generations and backgrounds (Malaysia, Toulouse, Belgium), their photographic expressions question the notions of territory, heritage, astronomy, identity, the body, etc. in a subjective and assumed authorial vision. These three views, associated for the first time, have entered into resonance for two months, giving rise to protean and transversal productions. We wish to show the international audience the richness and diversity of these revisited heritages. We are asserting our cross-disciplinary character with claimed gateways to design, auteur cinema, scientific research, contemporary music, …. as many disciplines present in a protean programme at the Abattoirs (04-27 November) and at the Quai des Savoirs (26 and 27 November). 

The Residence 1+2 is an artistic and human adventure. We are happy to share it with you today. 

Philippe Guionie 

Director of the 1+2 Residence 

EDITO

Exposition

04 NOV > 27 NOV 2016

Les Abattoirs, Musée - FRAC Occitanie Toulouse

COLLOQUE

5 NOV 2016

Les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse

FILM DE CRÉATION

Diana, Alice Léa

CINÉASTE : MARJORIE CALLE

COFFRET “LE GOÛT DES ÉTOILES”

Éditions Filigranes

Collection Toulouse

INNA MODJA

PATRON 2016

Malian artist, she is one of the new voices of the African continent. Produced in the mythical studios of photographer Malick Sidibé, her latest video “Tombouctou” bears witness to her commitment to the condition of women in the world. Transversal in her modes of expression, Inna loves photography. She has never performed in Toulouse as Diana Lui had never photographed or exhibited there. Inna was seduced by the work of the first three laureates of the Residence 1+2. 

EN

RÉSIDENCE 2016

Diana Lui, Alice Lévêque & Léa Patrix

La Résidence 1+2 est née d’un constat simple – Toulouse existe peu ou prou dans le regard des photographes auteurs de renom, français ou étrangers – et d’une envie : susciter les conditions favorables pour une production « made in Toulouse » mais ouverte sur le monde, associant pleinement création artistique et partage des savoirs. Nous considérons la photographie à la fois comme un art majeur et une pratique sociale à part entière.

À mi-chemin entre résidence de territoires et masterclass, la Résidence 1+2 a pour ambition de valoriser l’ensemble des patrimoines matériels et immatériels existants à Toulouse et en région Occitanie: diasporas, mémoires, collections, cultures, mobilités, musiques, architectures, … Documenter le territoire toulousain et régional, ses patrimoines matériels et immatériels, oui mais surtout le laisser vivre et s’abandonner dans le regard des autres. La Résidence 1+2 est un programme photographique ancré à Toulouse et à vocation européenne durant lequel trois photographes confrontent leurs regards d’auteur. Elle associe chaque année trois photographes (un photographe de renom et deux jeunes photographes), trois villes (Toulouse, Barcelone, Bruxelles), trois supports (exposition, ouvrages, film). Pour cette première édition, nous avons choisi Diana Lui, Alice Lévêque et Léa Patrix.

Issus de générations et d’horizons différents (Malaisie, Toulouse, Belgique), leurs expressions photographiques interrogent les notions de territoires, le patrimoine, l’astronomie, l’identité, le corps ,… dans une vision d’auteur subjective et assumée. Ces trois regards, associés pour la première fois, sont entrés en résonance pendant deux mois, suscitant des productions protéiformes et transversales. Nous souhaitons montrer à l’international toute la richesse et la diversité de ces patrimoines revisités. Nous affirmons notre caractère transversal avec des passerelles revendiquées vers le design, le cinéma d’auteur, la recherche scientifique, les musiques actuelles, …. autant de disciplines présentes dans une programmation protéiforme aux Abattoirs (04-27 novembre) et au Quai des Savoirs (26 et 27 novembre).

La Résidence 1+2 est une aventure artistique et humaine. Nous sommes heureux de la partager avec vous aujourd’hui.

Philippe Guionie
Directeur de la Résidence 1+2

EDITO

Exposition

04 NOV > 27 NOV 2016

Les Abattoirs, Musée - FRAC Occitanie Toulouse

COLLOQUE

5 NOV 2016

Les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse

FILM DE CRÉATION

Diana, Alice Léa

CINÉASTE : MARJORIE CALLE

COFFRET “LE GOÛT DES ÉTOILES”

Éditions Filigranes

Collection Toulouse

INNA MODJA

MARRAINE 2016

Artiste malienne, elle est l’une des nouvelles voix du continent africain. Réalisé dans les studios mythiques du photographe Malick Sidibé, son dernier clip «Tombouctou» témoigne de son engagement sur la condition des femmes dans le monde. Transversale dans ses modes d’expressions, Inna aime la photographie. Elle ne s’est jamais produite en concert à Toulouse comme Diana Lui n’y avait jamais photographié ou exposé. Inna a été séduite par la production des trois premières lauréates de la Résidence 1+2.
FR