2021

MYRIEM KARIM

Born in Nanterre in 1991, Myriem karimm has approached the relationship between the body and space through dance and she has taken up her photographic practice through literature. The work of the photographer Denis Riches made her discover that literature could interweave with photography. In 2016, she completed her master’s degree in Literature with an aesthetic study entitled: (Des)saisissement du Temps avec Notre Antéfixe by Denis Roche, obtained with honours under the supervision of the philosopher Pierre Zaoui at the Université Paris Diderot. 

Her photographic work questions our relationship with places and matter associating poetry and photography, two media she considers both independent but complementary in their practice. Her photography always tells the story of a body and a landscape space, enhance their interactions and reciprocity, a look inside a landscape, an observation of uninhabited, natural places, which questions the relationship of mutual traces and imprints. Her images revisit places she has already photographed during random peregrinations (Je suis venue ici, already 2018). This repetition is an integral part of her artistic process and the vagaries of silver photography make it possible to have an experimental approach. In the autumn 2019, she was the winner of the Résidence 1+2 Factory at the Confluence Garonne-Ari7ge Regional Nature Reserve in partnership with Nature En Occitanie. In 2020, she was awarded the Grand Prix MAP/CD 31 and she exhibited her series Nous habitons la nuité de notre corps. In her practice Myriem Karim is in search for what is original and for the ties that bind us to the world and the time. 

Myriem Karim lives and works in Montpellier. 

THEME(S): Geographical and géological sciences 

How do mountains (de)shape themselves ? How old are the rocks ? How can we be part of the landscape and experience cartography ? 

Following the steps of Franz Schrader (1844-1924), inventer of the « orographe » in 1873 : a tool invented to draw moutainous areas, in pyreneans crircus of Gavarnie, Troumouse, Estaubé, L’Empreinte des millénaires, explore the links between topographical knowledge of a territory and perception of a space offered thanks to photography. In the light of Earth sciences, I look into the issue of landscape’s evolution of these olds ice valleys by probing our way to be-to-the-world. 

What do we decide to inheritate from a place ? Which possibles stories are told and what potentiels futurs are playing in there ? 

In front of the moutains finitude, topographicals maps reveal a snapshot of the place : a connexion with the space at a given moment. Where the levels curves come out as reliefs and stratums of the geological prints, slowness of the inside fold and infinite rocks. 

The orographe express a dynamic of look. It is a quick scan locating the subject into the heart of landscapes— the view is not overhanging. We can apprehend it more through place attachement than by its representativity prism.

To embody it, I borrowed to the geologist Michel de Saint-Blanquat (Géosciences environment Toulouse laboratory/ Observatory Midi-Pyrénées), to the geomorphologist Vincent Regard(Géosciences environment Toulouse laboratory/ Observatory Midi-Pyrénées), to the geographer Jean-Paul Métailié GEODE / Université Toulouse-2 Jean Jaurès), their ground understanding tools : variation of scales of observation of phenomenons, répétition of photographics routes, geological cut, methodologie of the transect.1

Walking allows to cross the territory which cross us in return, and to multiply the point of views. The body is taken in an interpersonal and sensitive dimension to the landscapes. The ground is ressources and resistance. It is an intimate encounter. The feeling of nature occurs. To whom intertwine the restlessness of the landscape produced by time fading and movement into space. The esthetic experience of the world emerges through the walk as a creative process. The body is engaged into the meditation of things.

Everything becomes flow, immersion, happenstance.


1. A crossing, following an imaginary and vertical line, of a Geographic space so that landscapes components can be analyzed)

EN

2021

MYRIEM KARIM

Née à Nanterre en 1991, c’est par la danse que Myriem Karim aborde le rapport du corps à l’espace, et par la littérature qu’elle débute sa pratique photographique. L’œuvre du photographe Denis Roche lui fait découvrir un possible entrelacs – littérature et photographie -. En 2016, elle termine son cycle de Master en Lettres par une étude esthétique intitulée : (Des)saisissement du Temps avec Notre Antéfixe de Denis Roche, obtenue avec mention sous la direction du philosophe Pierre Zaoui à l’Université Paris Diderot.

Son travail photographique interroge notre rapport aux lieux et à la matière en alliant poésie et photographie, deux médiums qu’elle considère indépendants dans leur pratique mais complémentaires. Sa photographie raconte toujours l’histoire d’un corps et d’un espace paysagé mettant en relief leurs interactions et réciprocité, un regard posé à l’intérieur d’un paysage, une observation de lieux inhabités, naturels, qui questionne le rapport des traces et des empreintes mutuelles. Ses images revisitent des lieux qu’elle a déjà photographiés lors de pérégrinations aléatoires (Je suis venue ici, déjà 2018). Cette répétition fait partie intégrante de sa démarche artistique et les aléas de la photographie argentique lui permettent une approche expérimentale. À l’automne 2019, elle est lauréate de la Résidence 1+2 Factory à la Réserve naturelle régionale Confluence Garonne-Ariège en partenariat avec Nature En Occitanie. En 2020, elle obtient le Grand prix MAP / CD 31 et expose sa série « Nous habitons la nudité de notre corps ». La photographie de Myriem Karim est une quête de l’originel, la recherche de ce qui nous lie au monde et au temps.

Myriem Karim vit et travaille à Montpellier.

THÉMATIQUE(S) : Sciences géographiques et géologiques

Comment se (dé)forment les montagnes ? Quel âge ont les roches ? Comment prendre part au paysage et faire l’expérience de la cartographie ? 

Dans les pas de Franz Schrader (1844-1924) créateur de l’orographe en 1873 : un outil à dessiner le relief ;aux Cirques pyrénéens de Gavarnie, Troumouse et Estaubé ; L’Empreinte des millénaires, explore les liens entre connaissance topographique d’un territoire et perception de l’espace qu’offre la photographie. À l’aune des sciences de la Terre, je me suis penchée sur l’évolution paysagère de ces anciennes vallées glaciaires en sondant notre mode d’être-au-monde. 

Que décide t-on d’hériter d’un lieu ? Quelles fictions possibles s’y racontent et quels devenirs potentiels s’y jouent ? 

Face à la finitude des montagnes, les cartes topographiques révèlent un instantané du lieu : un rapport à l’espace à un moment donné. Là où les courbes de niveaux traduisent reliefs et strates de l’empreinte géologique, lenteur du plissement intérieur et infini des roches. 

L’orographe exprime une dynamique du regard. C’est un tour d’horizon situant le sujet au coeur des paysages – la vue n’est pas surplombante. Nous pouvons davantage l’appréhender à travers l’attachement aux lieux, que par le prisme de sa représentativité. 

Pour l’incarner, j’ai emprunté au géologue Michel de Saint-Blanquat (Géosciences Environnement Toulouse / Observatoire Midi – Pyrénées) ; au géomorphologue Vincent Regard (Géosciences Environnement Toulouse / Observatoire Midi – Pyrénées) ; au géographe Jean-Paul Métailié (GEODE / Université Toulouse-2 Jean Jaurès); leurs outils de compréhension du terrain: variation des échelles d’observation des phénomènes, répétition des itinéraires photographiques, coupe géologique, méthodologie du transect. 1

La marche permet de traverser le territoire, qui nous traverse en retour, et de multiplier les points de vue. Le corps est pris dans une dimension relationnelle et sensible aux paysages. Le terrain est ressource et résistance. Il est une rencontre intime. Le sentiment de la nature advient. Auquel s’entrelace l’émouvance du paysage procurée par l’écoulement du temps et le mouvement dans l’espace. L’expérience esthétique du monde surgit dans la marche comme processus créatif. Le corps est engagé dans la contemplation du cosmos des choses. 

Tout devient flux, immersion, sérendipité. 


1. Traversée, selon une ligne imaginaire et verticale, d’un espace géographique afin d’en analyser les composantes paysagères.

FR