2019

MATTHIEU GAFSOU

SOLASTALGIE

Matthieu Gafsou is a French-Swiss photographer, born in 1981. After a master’s degree in philosophy, literature, and cinema at the University of Lausanne, he studied photography at the School of Applied Arts in Vevey. En 2009, he received the prestigious “HSBC Foundation Prize for Photography” and in 2010, he was invited to the group exhibition ReGeeneration2 at the Musée de l’Elysée with the Aperture Foundation. In 2014, his work Only God Can Judge Me was displayed at the Musée de l’Elysée in Lausanne. 

His photographic series has been the subject of five monographs and numerous publications. In parallel to his artistic practice, he teaches at the University of Art and Design in Lausanne (ECAL). In 2018, his latest project, H+ was the subject of a major monographic exhibition at the Rencontres de la photographie in Arles. He lives and works in Lausanne, Switzerland. 

Future has become a worrying horizon. This is the starting point of this project: the transformation that has taken place in my relationship to the world, in which the sere vision of the future is crumbling, the anxiety no longer appears as a revelation of my intimate flaws by as a threat to the “extime” – the territory, the world, what surrounds me and seemed unchanging… Rather than limiting my project to a factual enumeration of the causes of this crisis (pollution, global warming, social and migratory crises, financial crises, etc.), and rather than invoking only major concepts, such as the Anthropocene, for example, I have chosen to introduce as a theme the intimate dimension of this horizon. How am I affected by this prospect and above all, how does it, already, have an influence on my daily life by discrete touches? To this end, I decided to initiate a fragmented, complex visual language, which at the same time shows certain factual aspects (the snow that melts in February in the Alps, for example) and others that are intimate or close to my daily life (my family, etc.). But it seemed essential to me to integrate a philosophical dimension into this project, to question our relationship to what surrounds us and to try to introduce the theme of the violence of our relation to our environment. This is why I try to make images that bear witness of a different relationship to the environment (because the landscape in its artistic form often refers to an idealized form of the territory that I try to question). Finally, some of the more ambiguous photographs recall my own contradictions and literally depict how I am using the resources around me in a violent way. This project is therefore made up of a core of documentary photographs regularly balanced by more allegorical images that allow the representation to be shifted towards philosophical and personal dimensions. It is about making scientific questions more intimate, undertaking a shift towards the sensitive world and participating in a concert of voices that from my point of view, is necessary. I would link to thank the CNRS laboratories that helped me carry out this project, in particular the Evolution and Biological Diversity laboratory, the National Centre for Meteorological research, and the French instrumented Aircraft Service for Environmental Research.

Matthieu Gafsou
EN

2019

MATTHIEU GAFSOU

SOLASTALGIE

Matthieu Gafsou est un photographe franco-suisse, né en 1981. Après une maîtrise en philosophie, littérature et cinéma à l’Université de Lausanne, il étudie la photographie à l’Ecole des Arts Appliqués de Vevey. En 2009, il reçoit le prestigieux «Prix de la fondation HSBC pour la photographie» et en 2010, il est invité dans l’exposition collective ReGeneration2 au musée de l’Elysée avec la Fondation Aperture. En 2014, son travail Only God Can Judge Me est présenté au Musée de l’Elysée à Lausanne.

Ses séries photographiques ont fait l’objet de cinq monographies et de nombreuses publications. Parallèlement à sa pratique artistique, il enseigne à la haute école d’art et de design de Lausanne (ECAL). En 2018, son dernier projet, H+, a fait l’objet d’une grande exposition monographique aux Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles.

Il vit et travaille à Lausanne en Suisse.

Le futur est devenu un horizon inquiétant. C’est le point de départ de ce projet : la transformation qui s’est opérée dans ma relation au monde, l’effritement d’une vision d’avenir sereine, l’apparition de l’angoisse non plus comme révélateur de mes failles intimes mais de la menace qui pèse sur «l’extime» : le territoire, le monde, ce qui m’entoure et me semblait immuable … Plutôt que de limiter uniquement mon projet à l’énumération factuelle des causes de cette crise (pollution, réchauffement, crises sociales et migratoires, crises financières, etc.), plutôt que de convoquer uniquement de grands concepts, comme l’anthropocène par exemple, j’ai choisi de thématiser la dimension intime d’un tel horizon. Comment suis-je affecté par cette perspective et surtout comment cette dernière, déjà, par touches discrètes, influence mon quotidien. Pour ce faire, j’ai décidé de mettre en œuvre un langage visuel éclaté, complexe, qui tout à la fois montre certains aspects factuels (la neige qui fond en février dans les Alpes par exemple), d’autres intimes ou proches de mon quotidien (ma famille…). Mais il me semblait essentiel d’intégrer à ce projet une dimension philosophique, de questionner notre relation à ce qui nous entoure et d’essayer de thématiser la violence de notre relation à notre milieu. C’est la raison pour laquelle j’essaie de fabriquer des images qui témoignent d’une relation autre à l’environnement (car le paysage dans sa forme artistique renvoie souvent à une forme idéalisée du territoire que j’essaie de questionner). Enfin, certaines photographies, plus ambiguës, rappellent mes propres contradictions et mettent littéralement en scène la violence de ma façon de me servir des ressources qui m’entourent. Ce projet est donc constitué d’un noyau de photographies documentaires régulièrement balancées par des images plus allégoriques qui permettent de déplacer la représentation vers des dimensions philosophique et personnelle. Il s’agit de rendre intimes les questions posées par la science, d’opérer ce glissement vers le sensible et de participer à un concert de voix que j’estime à titre personnel nécessaire. Merci aux laboratoires du CNRS qui m’ont aidé à réaliser ce projet, en particulier le laboratoire Evolution et diversité biologique, le Centre national de recherches météorologiques, ainsi que le Service des avions français instrumentés pour la recherche en environnement.

Matthieu Gafsou
FR