THE WALLONIE-BRUXELLES CENTRE | PARIS

Director : Stéphanie Pécourt

Far from being a mausoleum that would contribute to the canonisation of the heritage of French-speaking Belgian culture, the Centre is a reference catalyst for contemporary Belgian creation and the artistic ecosystem in its transversality. Through a resolutely de-anctuarising and transdisciplinary programme, the Centre is mandated to disseminate and promote the work of artists based in he Walloon-Brussels Federation, with a view to optimising their exposure in France. It this ensures the promotion of emerging or confirmed talents, from the periphery to the delicated. It contributes to stimulating co-productions and international patnerships and to crystallising attention in favour of the Belgian scene. 

The Centre unveils, by season, artistic approaches that attest to the irreducibility of the porous territories of Belgian contemporary creation to a common denominator. Located in the 4th arrondissement of Paris, opposite the Centre Pompidou, its programming is spread over more than 1000 m². An offshore Belgian island, it also implements satellite programming outside the walls in conjunction with institutions, operators and prescribing events. 

The Centre is a decentralized service of Wallonie-Bruxelles International (WBI): an instrument of the international policy conducted by Wallonia-Brussels federation and the French Community Commission of the Brussels Capital Region. 

2021

LAURE WINANTS

Born in Spa (Belgium) in 1991, Laure Winants obtained her master’s degree in Visual Communication at the IHECS Academy (Brussels) in 2016. She specialised in visual arts at the Belo Horizonte UFMG Fine Arts in Brazil, and completed her practice in Belgium, returning to the KASK Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten in Gent (2017-2018). 

Her photographic projects consider the ways we are connecting with our environment, natural phenomena, and our aesthetic perceptions. Passionate about the sea and navigation, she is currently preparing a research on microplastics. In her latest creation takes shape – an evolving installation she highlights the destruction of natural spaces. 

Laura Winants presents her research evolution in different premises: at La Cambre Bruxelles during the collective exhibition 60/60 (The Comet is coming in March 2019), at the Musée de la photographie of Carleroi (The Comet is coming in May 2019), at the RAVI (2020), at the Art au Centre, Liège and the Tiny Gallery, Brussels. After several residences, she displayed her next exhibition in December 2020 in Brussels. In 2021, she is going to exhibit at the CCHA Centre d’art of Hasselt as well as in Liège for the Prix de la creation 2020. 

She lives and works in Brussels. 

THEME : Climate sciences 

Following an artist-researcher approach, I walk around the mountains in search of clues and prints – thus faithfull to this «  art of investigation » mentioned by Tim Ingold – and putting them in perspective in front of climate change and anthropogenics pressures.

ALBEDO is based on a short-time research around naturals elements and offer a photogrpahic and expérimental study on the tracks that fluctuations and climates dynamics draw on Earth and on substance. In order to understand these indicators of change, she surronds itself with a multidisciplinary team whose approaches are focused on climatology, and their mesures tools. A dialogue is getting created with the researchers of those differents plastics and scientifics subjects of CNRS- Materials and Climates Sciences. The differents axis research hinge on mesures tools ; stratospheric balloons, radars, sensors such as ARGOS, LEGOS. Tracks of climate change on the Pic du Midi of Bigorre with OMP – Observatory Midi-Pyrénées. As well as tracks of human with « microplas-tiques » research in the atmosphere of Gaël Leroux from Laboratory of functional ecology and environment.

ALBEDO allows us to encounter with the mountains, to face it and to join the expedition with an in situ solarization photographic device on my back.The device carry itslef to each expedition and take place almost in a performative way in the landscape, then the picture is being built with the physical commitment of the territory. Photographic tracks of the expedition comme with simples, eroded substance taken upon the printing place as well as localisation datas. During the expedition, the substance picked up becomes a geograohic print as well as the pigmentary base inside the photosensitive solution. The in situ print takes all the elements in consideration – Solar radiations, the meteorologicals conditions, the atmosphericals gas, the minerals. Albedo brings the importance of mountains to light for all the ecosystems it shelters and protects. Time does not erease. The Earth keep printing eternally what we do on it. 

This involved approach aims to bring datas out of laboratories so they could take place in a public debate. A human and sensitive dimension of science which allows transgressions, metaphors, paralels and winks.

EN

LE CENTRE WALLONIE-BRUXELLES | PARIS

Direction : Stéphanie Pécourt

Loin de constituer un mausolée qui contribuerait à la canonisation de l’héritage patrimonial de la culture belge francophone, le Centre est un catalyseur de référence de la création contemporaine belge et de l’écosystème artistique dans sa transversalité. Au travers d’une programmation résolument désanctuarisante et transdisciplinaire, le Centre est mandaté pour diffuser et valoriser des signatures d’artistes basé.e.s en Fédération WallonieBruxelles, dans une perspective d’optimisation de leur irradiation dans l’Hexagone. Il assure ainsi la promotion des talents émergents ou confirmés, du périphérique au consacré. Il contribue à stimuler les coproductions et partenariats internationaux et à cristalliser une attention en faveur de la scène belge.

Le Centre dévoile, par saison, des démarches artistiques qui attestent de l’irréductibilité à un dénominateur commun des territoires poreux de création contemporaine belge. Situé dans le 4e arrondissement de Paris, face au Centre Pompidou, sa programmation se déploie sur plus de 1000 m2. Îlot offshore belge, il implémente également des programmations Satellites en Hors-les-Murs en lien avec des institutions, opérateurs et évènements prescripteurs.

Le Centre est un service décentralisé de Wallonie-Bruxelles International (WBI) : instrument de la politique internationale menée par la Wallonie, la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et la Commission communautaire française de la Région de Bruxelles Capitale.

2021

LAURE WINANTS

Née à Spa (Belgique) en 1991, Laure Winants obtient son master en communication visuelle à l’IHECS Academy (Bruxelles) en 2016. Elle se spécialise en arts visuels aux Beaux-Arts de Belo Horizonte UFMG au Brésil, et complète sa pratique en Belgique, en rentrant à la KASK Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten à Gent (2017-2018).

Ses projets photographiques engagent une réflexion sur les façons dont nous rentrons en relation avec notre environnement, les phénomènes naturels et nos perceptions esthétiques. Passionnée par la mer et la navigation, elle prépare actuellement une recherche sur les microplastiques. Sa dernière création prend forme dans une installation évolutive qui met en évidence la destruction des espaces naturels.

Laure Winants présente l’évolution de ces recherches dans différents espaces : à La Cambre Bruxelles lors de l’exposition collective 60/60 (The Comet is coming, mars 2019), au Musée de la photographie à Charleroi (The Comet is coming, mai 2019), au RAVI (2020), à Art au Centre à Liège et à la Tiny Gallery à Bruxelles. Elle participe également, en 2020 à une résidence puis une exposition collective GlogauAIR à Berlin- Kreuzberg en Allemagne. En 2021, elle exposera au CCHA Centre d’art de Hasselt ainsi qu’à Liège lors du Prix de la création 2020.

Elle vit et travaille à Bruxelles.

THÉMATIQUE : Sciences climatiques

Dans une démarche d’artiste-chercheuse, j’arpente la montagne en quête d’indices et de traces – ainsi fidèle à cet « art de l’enquête » dont parle Tim Ingold – et de les mettre en perspective face au changement climatique et aux pressions anthropiques. 

ALBEDO s’appuie sur une recherche au long cours autour des éléments naturels et propose une étude photographique expérimentale sur les traces que les fluctuations et les dynamiques climatiques dessinent sur la terre et sur la matière. Pour comprendre ces marqueurs du changement, elle s’entoure d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire dont les approches sont axées sur la climatologie, et leurs instruments de mesure. Un échange se crée avec les chercheurs de différentes disciplines plastiques et scientifiques du CNRS – des Sciences de la matière et du climat. Les différents axes de la recherche s’articulent autour des instruments de mesures ; des ballons stratosphériques, des radars, des capteurs, comme ARGOS, LEGOS. Des traces du changement climatique sur le Pic du Midi de Bigorre avec l’OMP – Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées. Ainsi que des traces de l’homme avec la recherche sur les microplas-tiques dans l’atmosphère de Gaël Leroux du Laboratoire écologie fonctionnelle et environnement. 

ALBEDO permet de partir à la rencontre de la montagne, de s’y frotter et de nous joindre à l’expédition avec un dispositif photographique de solarisation in situ sur le dos. Le dispositif se transporte à chaque expédition et prend place presque de façon performative dans le paysage, l’image se construit alors avec l’engagement physique du territoire. Les traces photographiques de l’expédition s’accompagnent des prélèvements, matière érodée prélevée sur le lieu de l’impression ainsi que les données de localisation. Lors de l’expédition, la matière ramassée devient trace géographique ainsi que base pigmentaire dans la solution photosensible. L’impression in situ prend en compte tous les éléments – le rayonnement solaire, les conditions météorologies, les gazs atmosphériques, les minéraux. ALBEDO met en lumière de l’importance de la montagne pour tous les écosystèmes qu’elle abrite et qu’elle protège. Le temps ne s’efface pas. La terre imprime continuellement ce que l’on y fait.

Cette démarche engagée a pour but de faire sortir les données des laboratoires pour qu’elles prennent place dans le débat public. Une dimension humaine et sensible de la science, qui autorise transgressions, métaphores, contre-point et clins d’oeil.

FR